To: George Washington Chapter, Washington SAR

From: Kevin Coyne (NSSAR # 180861), Law Enforcement Recognition Chair, Geo. Washington Chapter

Subject: NSSAR Law Enforcement Recognition Medal / Certificate Presentation Proposal

I spoke to Sheriff Bill Elfo of Whatcom County and shared with him the criterion for recipients of the NSSAR Law Enforcement Recognition Medal and Certificate. When asked if he had any idea of potential candidates, Sheriff Elfo noted the criterion include prosecutors and people that have performed service beyond that normally expected. Sheriff Elfo then made me aware of the service of Whatcom County Prosecutor David McEachran.

David McEachran was elected prosecutor of Whatcom County in 1974 and has served so many consecutive terms, he is believed to be the longest serving elected prosecutor in the history of Washington State. But, long years of service are only part of the reason for the nomination for the NSSAR award. McEachran is noted for being on the cutting edge of technology, and prosecuting murder trials himself in court. He has been involved in several notable cases, as outlined in the attached biography from the Whatcom County Prosecutor web page.

Sheriff Elfo provided a written letter suggesting that McEachran be considered for our award. Sheriff Elfo's letter is also attached.

Based on my own knowledge of the criminal justice system, Sheriff Elfo's recommendation seems to be a great one. David McEachran certainly has served with distinction and far beyond what is normally expected of an elected prosecutor. I concur with Sheriff Elfo, and I hereby bring forth the name of Whatcom County Prosecutor David McEachran to be a recipient of the Law Enforcement Recognition Award of the NSSAR, as awarded by the George Washington Chapter of Washington SAR upon approval of the chapter by official acclamation.

Approved by Chapter Acclamation this 21st day of October in the Year of our Lord Two thousand and seventeen and of the Independence of the United States of America, the Two hundred and forty-first.

Chapter LE Recognition Chair

Chapter Vice President

Chapter President